Long term follow-up clinical service

Finishing cancer treatment is a positive time for survivors of childhood cancer and their families, however this time may also bring about feelings of worry, uncertainty or confusion about the future.

The Long Term Follow-up Program (LTFP) provides support and survivorship care for children, adolescents and their families by:

  • Providing a tailored medical, nursing and allied health service that is designed for your child needs.
  • Helping children and adolescents and their families to transition to adult community and/or hospital services
  • Offering information about what to expect when coming off treatment

The program is available to all paediatric & adolescent (18 years or younger) survivors of childhood cancer living in Victoria. The PICS LTFP clinics are held at the Royal Children’s Hospital, Monash Children’s Hospital, and at designated regional centres.

To download the Long Term Follow-up Program Information for patients and families brochure, please click here.

If you would like to know more about this program or to access links for further assistance visit the LTFP web page or contact the LTFP team at ltf.program@rch.org.au

Quick Links for further assistance

NAME WEB ADDRESS PHONE
Cancer Council Australia www.canceraustralia.gov.au
Cancer Council Victoria www.cancervic.org.au
Children’s Cancer Institute Australia www.ccia.org.au
Department of Health and Human Services www.dhhs.vic.gov.au 1300 650 172
Domestic Crisis Line www.dvrcv.org.au 1800 200 526
Eating Disorders Foundation www.eatingdisorders.org.au out
Headspace www.eheadspace.org.au
Health Translations Directory www.healthtranslations.vic.gov.au
Kids Helpline www.kidshelp.com.au 1800 551 800
Monash Children’s Hospital www.monashchildrenshospital.org
Monash Health www.monashhealth.org
Murdoch Childrens Research Institute www.mcri.edu.au
Orygen Youth Health www.oyh.org.au 1800 888 320
Palliative Care Australia (Paediatric) www.palliativecare.org.au/children
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre www.petermac.org
Reach Out www.reachout.com
Suicide Line www.suicideline.org.au 1300 651 251
The Royal Children’s Hospital www.rch.org.au/home
Youth beyond Blue www.youthbeyondblue.com
Youth Drug and Alcohol Advice (YoDAA) www.yodaa.org.au 1800 458 685

 

International Links

Children’s Cancer and Leukaemia Group

Children’s Hospital Los Angeles: Hope Portal

Children’s Oncology Group

CureSearch for Children’s Cancer

International Society of Paediatric Oncology (SIOP)

LIVESTRONG: The Lance Armstrong Foundation

SuperSibs!:  support for siblings of children and adolescents with cancer

Health Information Links

Medical

Australian guide to healthy eating

Staying healthy through diet and physical activity

Great food = great teeth

Sunsmart

Female – Self-examination

Male – Self-examination

Preventing cardiovascular complications after treatment for childhood cancer

Education

Educational issues following treatment

VTAC and the application process

Sexual Health

HPV and cervical cancer

The Pap test has changed – More accurate Less often

Sex and sexual health

Sexuality and mental health

HPV vaccine for Students

Psychosocial

Emotional issues after childhood cancer

Headspace – Information for Parents and Carers

Tips for healthy headspace

Alcohol

Canteen

Headspace

Transitioning from paediatrics

Adolescent transition: The basics for young people

Differences in care

How to talk to your doctor

Finding your own GP

Know your rights

ID cards, health cards and other practical matters